Photography with Film 2: Part 1

This past week I got back the two rolls of Tmax 100 that I shot a few weeks ago and decided to share some of the highlights. Overall I’m pleased, but the contrast on some of them came out a bit muddier than expected. I suspect that the film being 100 speed resulted in some of the silhouette photography I tried not working very well. I suppose I’ll need to do some more reading and practice to get the hang of it.

I took some portrait shots with the film though, and was very pleased with the results, so I’m looking at experimenting with some black and white portrait photography on film in the near future.

The first day I was taking pictures some of my old roommates were playing basketball and I decided to snap some pictures of them.

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

That same day we went to see my nephew who was in the hospital to have his tonsils taken out. Overall these pictures (which I tried to shoot in silhouette) came out VERY muddy, but this one had a nice level of contrast and the exposure was good (with pretty good shadow detail).

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

I was very pleased with the contrast in this picture of the state capitol.

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

This one was very low-light and I wasn’t sure it would work, but it actually turned out rather well. I did have to adjust the black levels as they were fairly grey and muddy, but I honestly did very little to adjust it, just a very slight contrast adjustment.

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

Very pleased with this picture. I love the way this camera/lens renders the out of focus parts of the frame. Notice how the post-it-notes on the mirror are very softly focused, meanwhile my wife’s face is very sharp, and my face is slightly soft in focus. The depth of field is very narrow, and the lens renders the soft areas very well. My digital camera sometimes has a bit of a garish, abrasive look in such shallow-depth pictures, but this one is just beautiful.

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

This one isn’t anything special, I just like the lens flaring and the play of the light vs. the dark halves of the frame.

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

(c) 2015 300 Media Productions

Leave a Reply

